Cini Minis….YUM

Last Thursday (yes I know a few days behind here) I was getting ready to make some breakfast for my boys. I had a spare can of crescent rolls hanging around, because I always keep a some in the fridge. They are handy little buggers to keep around. Anyhoo, I was wanting to make them something fun and yummy so I found this pin from a few weeks back and thought it fit the bill: http://iowagirleats.com/2011/11/23/8-minute-mini-cinnamon-rolls/

I started out with my crescent rolls like so: Image

I pinched the seems together and rolled them out a bit then sprinkled with cinnamon to cover the dough like this: Image

Then spread some delicious brown sugar around like so: Image

I then began to roll my cinnamon rolls. Every time I do a recipe like this with crescent rolls where I have to pinch the seems together and roll them into one sheet of dough I get this problem:Image

I cannot tell you how much this INFURIATES me! I don’t know why but I get irrationally angry at that stupid dough. I can tell you it didn’t affect the taste at all…

Prepare  your mini muffin tins by spraying them with cooking spray so they don’t stick. Cut your roll with a sharp knife and place them in the muffins tins like this:Image

Mine made 16 small cinnamon rolls. Bake them according to the directions on the crescent package. While they are baking prepare an icing of powdered sugar and milk. I didn’t make the maple icing from the original pin because it didn’t sound great to me. I made a couple batches of the stuff trying to get the right consistency. I will tell you that you need a TINY amount of milk and a LARGE amount of powdered sugar. Like maybe 1 tsp of milk to 1/4 cup powdered sugar. Just keep mixing in the sugar until you get a thicker icing. 

Here they are fresh from the oven:Image

Put your icing in a ziplock bag, cut a teeny tiny hole in the corner and drizzle over your rolls and ENJOY!Image

They were delicious. My picky nine year old took one bite and deemed then uneatable, but the rest of the family enjoyed them. They were even good cold.

Leave a Reply

