SLACKER

I know, I know, one Pin a day(ish) right? I have been doing them, just not documenting them for lack of time. I have been a busy girl with the 4th of July and painting the house. 

I want to tell you about one recipe that I made for the 4th. It was OMG to die for dip. Here is the original pin: http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/appetizers-and-snacks/jene28099s-mexicorn-dip/

I guess it comes under many names, cowboy caviar is what I called it, but by the end of the night it was called the $hit dip because it was, well, the $hit. It was seriously the best appetizer/dip I’ve ever made. We had it with just plain tortilla chips and it was great. I added a couple more green onions and a small bunch of cilantro, because cilantro makes everything better. Even my picky 9 year old loved it. There was none left, it didn’t even make it to fireworks time. 

Ingredients:

2 cans mexi corn, drained

1 can original Rotell

4 oz can diced green chilis

2 whole diced jalapenos, seeds removed

1 red bell pepper

5 green onions 

8 oz shredded Mexican cheese blend

1 small bunch of cilantro

1 cup mayo

1 cup sour cream

Mix all ingredients in a bowl, enjoy with tortilla chips or Fritos.

 

 

And here is another recipe that I made on Monday: http://diaryofarecipeaddict.blogspot.com/2011/07/sweet-spicy-bacon-chicken.html. I have made this before, but it was much better the second time around. We grilled it this time and I think that made the difference. The brown sugar really caramelized and and made it much better. 

I only took a few pics because I was being a little lazy. Here is the chicken after being seasoned.

Image

I used a pretty generous portion of chili powder on both sides of the chicken tenders and just a dusting of garlic powder on one side. I then added some fresh ground pepper and sea salt and wrapped them in thick cut pepper bacon  and rolled them in a generous amount of brown sugar. I then placed toothpicks in the bacon so it wouldn’t fall off on the grill. Here are the little beauties cooking:

Image

Notice the two plain chicken tenders up there, that’s for the picky eater. He’ll eat jalapenos but not bacon…not sure who’s kid he is.

They were delish. Served them with some grilled vegis and instant potatoes. This is a recipe that I will make again and again. Its so great.

Ingredients:

4 chicken breasts, cut in thirds

12 pieces thick cut pepper bacon

Chili powder

garlic powder

about 2 cups loosely packed brown sugar in small baking dish

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Cut thawed chicken breasts into tenders. Arrange on a dish and cover with chili powder on both sides and garlic powder on one side, or both is you don’t plan on making out anytime soon. Wrap tenders in bacon then roll the whole thing with a generous coating of brown sugar. Secure bacon with toothpicks on each end if grilling, no need if baking. 

Grill and enjoy.

If baking, bake at 400 for 30-40 minutes until chicken is cooked thru. 

Leave a Reply

