Red, White, and Blue rice krispie treats.

Happy almost 4th of July. What better way to celebrate the fourth than with some gooey, delicious rice krispie treats. Here is my inspiration pin: http://www.flickr.com/photos/sweetheartcupcake/5902982478/in/photostream, just the picture, no how to.

Obviously everyone knows how to make rice krispie treats, but in case you don’t, here is the recipe: 

  • 3 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 1 package (10 oz., about 40) regular marshmallows
  • – OR –
  • 4 cups miniature marshmallows
  • 6 cups Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® cereal

I doubled mine so it looked like this: 

  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 2 packages regular marshmallows or 8 cups mini marshmallows
  • 12 cups Rice Krispies 

Then I cut it into thirds to make the layers, like so:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • About 7 cups
  • 4 cups cereal 

I make mine in the microwave rather than on the stove, melt the butter and about 7 cups of the marshmallows on high for about 90 seconds stir until smooth and add food coloring like so: Image

I added a GENEROUS amount of food coloring because I didn’t want to end up with pink, white, and teal rice krispies.

I started with the red layer, followed by the white, and the blue: 

ImageImageImage

I let them cool in the fridge for a couple hours, cut, removed from the pan and VIOLA!!: 

Image

And darn if one wouldn’t fit on the plate so I had to eat it. Ok two! Have a safe 4th of July my friends.

Leave a Reply

