T-Shirt redesign

Let me start by saying I don’t sew. I have a sewing machine and I know the general idea of how to use it but I’m no good at it. So when I saw this pin: http://www.cutoutandkeep.net/projects/tshirt_shrug I thought, sure that’s cute, for someone else to do.

Well since I started this blog I decided I may as well challenge myself a little but and decided to tackle this one head on. I started with this old brown t-shirt that I haven’t worn in a long time: Image

Following the directions I cut the neckband off and made a cut down the middle of the shirt like this: Image

I then folded the shirt down about an inch all the way around and pinned it and it was ready to sew. I took a picture of this pins but it didn’t turn out so use your imagination : )

This is the main reason I don’t sew, I don’t know how to stop this from happening: Image

Grrr…this very frustrating. After this one little mishap though the rest went ok. I ended up with this: Image

You’ll notice it’s not exactly even, or sewn in a straight line even but I figured it would be gathered so it really didn’t matter. I was correct, you can’t tell in the finished product. 

I took a very long piece of matching ribbon and pinned a safety pin to the end to feed it through my sewn area, I’m sure there is a technical sewing term for it but I don’t know it. Image

 

Oops, missed a spot!!Image

Threading the ribbon took longer than the actual sewing because I had to use that tiny safety pin because it was the only one I could find. But here it is!! SO CUTE: Image

I’m very happy with how this turned out, although there are few small areas that could be improved. I might have to go find a couple thrift store t-shirts and make a few more. I think I will be cutting the ribbon a little so the tie isn’t so long and probably putting a little dart in it so it doesn’t fall out when I wash it. 

If you have been thinking about doing this but aren’t a great sewer like me, don’t worry, there is a lot of room for error in this project because its so gathered. I’m wearing mine right now to the grocery store. Happy Monday everyone!!

 

Leave a Reply

